Your rating: None
The String Arcade, game music for string quartet

The String Arcade, game music for string quartet

Category: Rhythm

Creating a new variation on some classic video game music, the recently release album, The String Arcade, reimagines fifteen video game songs (seventeen if you buy the physical CD) arranged for string quartet. The album was arranged by Dren McDonald and Jason Poss. The proceeds go to the Alameda Music Project, an after-school music program starting in September that features strings, chorus, and percussion for children in grades K-5.

The String Arcade features fifteen arrangements in the digital download with two bonus tracks on the physical CD. These are tracks most gamers will recognize, but they're performed in a whole new way. The album opens with Grasswalk from Plants vs. Zombies, and it's the perfect opening song. What's really amazing to me is that if you weren't a gamer, I don't think you'd have any idea that the album contained music from games. If you are a gamer and if you do know the games, you'll recognize the music easily. The track list follows:

  • Grasswalk (Plants vs. Zombies)
  • Echos of Ecco (Ecco the Dolphin)
  • Ferdinand Wanders Out For a Late Night Haircut (Pettington Park)
  • Engii (FTL - Faster Than Light)
  • Sonic 2 Scherzo (Sonic the Hedgehog 2)
  • Outlaws Title Theme (Outlaws)
  • Medicated Cow Walks the Cobbled Streets with Disgruntled Goat (Ravenshire Castle)
  • Scurvy Scallywags Theme (Scurvy Scallywags)
  • Scabb Cemetery/International House of Mojo (The Secret of Monkey Island 2: LeChuck's Revenge)
  • Altered Beast Title Theme (Altered Beast)
  • Optimism For an Improvement in The John Situation
  • Turret Suite (Portal 2) Valve
  • Minecraft Title Theme (Minecraft)
  • Tron Arcade Medley (Tron Arcade)
  • Tango Down (graBLOX)
  • Dance of the Space Bugs (Galaga)
  • The Legend of Zelda (The Legend of Zelda - NES)

The album features Robin Reynolds on cello, Emily Onderdonk on viola, Celia Harris on 2nd violin, Alisa Rose on 1st violin (except on Echos of Ecco, Sonic 2 Scherzo, Minecraft Title Theme, and Tron Arcade Medley), Philip Brezina on 1st violin (only on those four tracks), and the Videri String Quartet performing The Legend of Zelda.

You can read more about The String Arcade on their website at TheStringArcade.com where you can also find links to purchase the album. The digital download is $9.99, and the CD is $11.99, which comes with the two bonus tracks - Tron Arcade Medley and Altered Beast Title Theme. Now I find myself wondering how I can find more string quartet music, because I loved The String Arcade. Any suggestions?

This review was based on a promotional copy provided for review purposes. I'm @TheUser on Twitter.


Post this review on your own site!

Just agree to our Terms of Use and cut-paste your brains out.

Recommended for you...